I feel like if I pray hard enough or do something I can somehow revive my loved one. Am I going crazy?

by Jason on January 6, 2013

This is happening because you are in the midst of the “Bargaining” stage of grief.

Conventionally there are 5 stages of grief when a loss occurs. These are universal in nature and apply to everyone (although not always in consecutive order). The fundamental stages of grief in most bereavement stages are:

1. Shock & Denial
2. Pain & Guilt
3. Anger & Bargaining
4. Depression & Loneliness
5. Acceptance

I’m not diagnosing you here but from everything you’re telling me, these emotions you’re describing sound very targetted towards the Anger/Bargaining stage.

I’m very sorry for your loss. Bereavement is perhaps the hardest thing to go through because there is not salvation the can bring back a loved one. The only salvation is ultimately working towards resolution and finding acceptance in your circumstance.

I wish you all the best and truly hope for your gentle recovery during this difficult time.

Disclaimer: This site is not intended to diagnose or treat medical or psychological conditions. By visiting this website, you implicitly agree to our - terms of service. Additionally, I may be an affiliate for products that I recommend. If you purchase those items through my links I will earn a commission. You will not pay more when buying a product through this website. In fact, I oftentimes am able to negotiate a lower rate (or bonuses) not available elsewhere. When you order through this website, it helps me to continue to offer you lots of free stuff. Thank you, in advance for your support!

Home | Members | Affiliates | Privacy | Terms | Contact Us | Sitemap